Help & Contact Us

Your answer

What are the current film classifications?

Cineworld will not admit a customer into a film that does not look the correct age for the film certification. Cineworld reserves the right to challenge a customer on this issue, as it is not just Cineworld policy, but also the law. Customers maybe asked to provide proof of age in the form of a birth certificate, passport or bus pass that displays the customer's date of birth. Please note that cinemas will not accept a birth certificate as ID without accompanying photographic ID. We accept the following forms of photographic evidence as proof of age: driving licence; passport (original or photocopied); photo card bus pass; photographic Young Person's Rail Card; birth certificate (original or photocopied); Citizen Card and Validate UK card.

Film Classifications

(G) General It is impossible to predict what might upset any particular child. But a 'G' film should be suitable for audiences aged four years and over. 'G' films should be set within a positive moral framework and should offer reassuring counterbalances to any violence, threat or horror. 

(PG) Parental Guidance Unaccompanied children of any age may watch. A 'PG' film should not disturb a child aged around eight or older. However, parents are advised to consider whether the content may upset younger or more sensitive children.

(12A) 12A No-one younger than 12 may see a '12A' film in a cinema unless accompanied by an adult. Responsibility for allowing under-12s to view lies with the accompanying or supervising adult.

(15A) 15A Films classified '15A' are considered to be suitable for those of fifteen and upwards. They may also be seen by younger children provided a parent or adult guardian accompanies them.

(16) 16 No-one younger than 16 may see a '16' film in a cinema.

(18) 18 No-one younger than 18 may see an '18' film in a cinema.

Go to for further details.